Sophisticated romper

Soooo, I decided to join in on Project Run and Play‘s Season 6  sew-along.  Why did I do that?  I really have no clue what I have gotten myself into.  This is a new world for me folks.  Deadlines can give me the heebie-jeebies at times.  I can be too easy going, so this is just the fire I need to kick start a new year.  I am a firm believer in starting where you are with all of your abilities and available resources.  And that’s just what I plan to do.

The theme for week #1 is a pattern remix challenge.  The party dress from The Cottage Home was chosen to be remixed.  Very cute.

ThePartyDress

So, basically we take the pattern and revamp it in some way to make a new design.  I made it a personal goal to use items I already have in my home.  I remembered a pair of jeans I had in my fabric stash and thought they would make great material for Curly Cutie’s outfit.  Fabric is a combo of cotton, them twins “poly” and “ester”, and elastane.  It has a nice subtle stretch and is not too bulky for an active girl.

full pant view

I chose to remix the dress into a romper.  I consider my daughter to be a “tall drink of water” at the age of 5.  I just knew her long and lean body would be so cute in a sophisticated romper.  I had to get busy on the pattern.

romper pattern

I’m so glad I decided to make a mock-up of this outfit.  One, because my first pattern was too short.  Two, because I taped the bodice to the pant pattern backwards.  That thing looks hilarious, but it did what I needed it to do to get a good fit.

Changes to the pattern

–          Added length to bottom of bodice

–          Dropped the skirt and added a pant

–          Took a little more than 5/8” off of shoulder seam

–          Omitted the sash and added an elegant removable collar

–          Used thin black elastic for button loops

–          Used faux pearl buttons in place of fabric covered ones

–          I did not line the garment

For the collar, I used remnants from a curtain and a piece of lace my daughter so generously gifted me.  She’s beginning her own fabric stash and people actually give to her cause.

DSC08998

collarAnd for the full view.

romper front

romper back

I was so grateful CC allowed me to snap a few pics.  Most times she is so not a camera girl.  Although it seems as she’s getting older snapping pics is a little easier.  I do mean “a little”, a teench easier.  I was able to leave the original hem on the pants which was cool.  This is the beauty of refashioning clothes.  No yardage = no problem, just use what you have.  I also added a slight flare to the pant legs so they wouldn’t be straight up and down.

romper side

I had nothing to do with the crossing of the legs.  Lol.  I just go with what she gives me.

And as for The Party Dress…I rompered it.

45 thoughts on “Sophisticated romper

    1. Sabra, your little girl is so cute in her romper. I am so glad you didn’t throw your project out. I really liked your commentary on her pictures, especiallly the one where she looks like she’s conducting. Thanks for stopping by.

  1. LOVE this romper!! Such a fabulous idea for a busy girl. The dark jeans are perfect and beautifully designed. Love that collar (and that she has her own fabric stash!)

    1. Thank you Nicole. She is truly a girl that is on the move. I thought the collar was a fun addition too. We had some friends come over for dinner one day and they brought my daughter a some gifts. I ooohed and ahhhhed about her lace fabric. She spread it out on the floor, cut it down the middle and gave me half. *cue melting heart. Lol, it was so sweet. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I love a romper! I seriously considered making a pants romper with the pattern, but changed my mind last minute. I am so happy you did ’cause now I know I definitely need to make my girl one 🙂 So elegant.

    1. Thank you Jodi! So glad you stopped by. And so excited for your new journey. I too feel so grateful for the countless creative people that share their talent with the world so others can learn and be inspired to create. I love upcycling too! I also want to give to others. That’s it….we’re friends. Lol.

    1. Awww, thanks Danielle! Yep, we recently had dear neighbor of ours move out of the neighborhood. Her daughter knows that I sew and offered me several boxes of clothes in hopes I would be able to use them for fabric. I gladly accepted. Those jeans came out of one of those boxes. She was a pretty jazzy lady in her heyday. Lol.

  3. This is so cute! I think making clothes is much harder then quilting. I am not quite ready to jump into garment making…;0) If you need some quilting help I would be glad to direct you to some books or blogs. Hope that is helpful!

    1. Thank you! Clothes can range in degree of difficulty just like quilts do I think. I try to stay on the simple end. I have not ventured out into anything really complicated at this point. I figure if I can just get the basics down I can build on that. I sure would like to know what quilting blogs you recommend for beginners.

  4. Looks like there’s been a whole lot of sewing going on, Tamika! Your skills as a seamstress are only surpassed by your skills as a gift-giver. (I’m referring to your purse post — loved the quote at the end, too!) I’m also glad you made yourself some new potholders — mine are in sorry shape, lol. CC’s apparent delight in her new romper says it all — stylish and fun!

    1. Yes indeed Kim! Lots of sewing goin’ on. It has been most wonderful too. Thanks for the sweet words. CC is pretty excited about all of the goodness that’s been coming her way in the clothing department. I hope she grows to learn that I am fond of her and everything that concerns her.

    1. Awww, thank you! I am new to the wonderful world of rompers. I shall make more. Lol! I loved the simplicity and elegance of this piece. The lace was a last minute addition that turned out nice.

Go ahead and leave a drop!