Potholders and oven mitts

These have been a long time coming.  Overdue.  I’m talking feeling unnecessary heat on my hands when I’m pulling food out of the oven overdue.  I don’t have any pictures of my old ones…..but, do you remember those plain silver-looking ones?  Yeah, that’s what I had.  Except they were brown and burned is various places.  I think I had even burned through to the batting on one potholder.  Sometimes I’m just so used to holding on to old things that I don’t realize they need to be replaced.

Well, the time has come and I found some wonderful tutorials to help me with this process.  For the oven mitt, I used this tutorial over at Skip to my Lou.  Very easy to follow.  I got everything cut out one night while watching the movie remake of Sparkle with the husband.  Now, if you’ve read an earlier post you already know how I feel about movies.  So glad I had someting fun to do during that time.  Here they are…..

oven mitts-1

oven mitts-2

They add another little pop of yellow to the kitchen.  I’m not even going to address the black and white because you already know the deal.

For the potholders, I decided to go with these fun heart shapes I found over at Sew We Quilt.  I am so pleased with the results.  They work like a charm.

heart potholders

I had a little difficulty adding the bias binding to the blue one.  The method I tried did not leave me with enough binding to flip over the the other side.  The red one came out much better because I went ahead and just sandwiched the potholder in between the binding and called it a day.

blue potholder

See the top?  Nothing worse than sewing on binding and not having enough for it to catch on the other side.  Oh well, it’s going back on the hook just like this.  I just wanted to share that projects don’t always turn out as planned.  And that’s o.k.  That little cosmetic issue does not affect its functionality.

oven mitts and potholders

And here they are.  Ready to go when I need them.  Fun project to add some color to your cooking space.

4 thoughts on “Potholders and oven mitts

Go ahead and leave a drop!

