Dapper Plaid Trapper

We are in the 3rd week of Project Run and Play.

This week’s theme is “mad for plaid”.  I decided to sew for baby boy this week.  CC gets most of my sewing energy it seems.  For these four weeks I wanted to sew things the kids can wear in the upcoming cold weather.

I decided to make baby boy a winter hat and coat.  The pattern I used for the coat is the Jude Jacket from Shwin and Shwin.  CC has an outgrown fleece hat I used to make a hat pattern.

I had some plaid fabric on hand I knew I wanted to use for the hat.  I was going for a trapper style hat.  Something to keep him nice and warm and handsome.  I did not meet my goal this week to only use from my stash as I needed wanted the soft sherpa-like fabric.  I guess that’s what it’s called.  It turned out exactly how I wanted it to!

trap1

And yes, these pics are taken in the kids’ bathroom.  All I can say is, “It’s real out here!”.  I needed a place to keep him contained.  Lol.

Initially I was torn about using the fabric for the coat.  I wondered if it would give the coat a  feminine feel because of the light fabric combined with the sherpa.  So, I did what I could to make it more manly by adding a few elements (dark buttons, sleeve patch, plaid pocket flap).

trap2

DSC00889Pockets are nice, roomy and can hold baby boy’s favorite toys…….cars!

trap4The ears can be flipped up too!  I just used a string and clasp thingy from a purse we had around the house.  See, nothing is safe.  The sleeve patches are from an old winter coat of mine that is too through.  And the buttons are from one of dad’s old coats.

trap3

trap5DSC00902

DSC00910Baby boy likes the coat.  I think it’s so funny when kids want to put or leave certain clothes on even if they are in total opposition to the current weather.  Hilarious.

Let’s see if we can make it happen for the last week which is a signature look.

It doesn’t matter what you make, just create!

42 thoughts on “Dapper Plaid Trapper

    1. That is very nice of you to say Tracy. I do have my share of projects that end up in the graveyard, so I am thankful for the ones that actually turn out. Thanks for the comment. Do you plan on making anything similar?

      1. Well I’ve been over thinking it and every thing I have started has stalled. I was going to make a dress then switched to jacket and skirt and now I am just at a standstill so I am assuming I will miss this weeks deadline. My son is 12 but he would still like this look I think however I don’t currently have enough fabric to sew it up.

    1. Thanks Crystal! There are only a few plaids I really enjoy. I mean it has to be the perfect color combo and everything. This one definitely met the requirements. Lol. The hat and coat are super soft.

  1. Tamika, I remember my Mom sewing dresses for my sister ‘n me… or coats… jumpers… jammies — whatever it took to keep us clothed, in whatever season. It’s a thrill to see your handiwork and reminisce at the same time — your children will always remember! (Trust me.) Goodness, baby boy has grown, but you already knew that! The sure sign that his ensemble was a success is that he wants to wear it NOW. Roomy pockets for cars are a bonus. 🙂 Keep on creating… you’re so right!

    1. It’s so cool that your mom made your clothes. I really do hope this is an enjoyable experience for my kids and they don’t feel like they’re missing out on anything because they have handmade. Yes, baby boy is HUGE. I have no complaints. You would never think that he struggled to gain weight early on. Oh, how time changes things. It is definitely my goal to keep creating. Thanks for the encouragement.

    1. Ha, ha! Thanks Mae. That sherpa was a dream to work with. Because it’s double-sided, the coat didn’t need a lining. And it’s so soft and warm. It would be cool to see how your Jude Jacket turns out. At first I was really concerned, because I thought the fabric was a lighter color that I haven’t seen on many boy items. So, I tried to use the details to make it more masculine. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

  2. I know this is an old post! Sorry! but did you leave the edges unfinished on the exposed seams of the jacket? I have some faux sherpa I want to use in a rag quilt style blanket, but it will have exposed/unfinished seams and I don’t want it to shed away to nothing!! Haha! Love this little jacket you made!

    1. Hi Jane! No apologies necessary. You are right, the seams are not finished. You will have no problem with this material unraveling. It can get a little messy when you work with it initially, but you are cutting through those fibers so you can expect them to fly everywhere. However, your finished product should not shed. I had no problems machine washing the coat. Thanks for stopping by!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

