Strawberry Twist

This is week 2 of 4 over at Project Run & Play.

We were to create a design inspired by one of my all time faves……..CANDY!!!!  It didn’t take me long to figure out strawberry twists would be my inspiration.  You already know my favorite without me even having to say the name.  This is about the closest I can get to this stuff since I have stopped eating it.

candy twistsI took to my stash to see if I had any fabric I could work with and found a nice little fleece airline travel blanket. Perfect.

Inspiration can hit at some of the weirdest times for me.  I was sure we would miss this week.  I had one thing in mind, then realized I couldn’t get enough fabric from the blanket to go with that idea.  I told CC I didn’t think we would make it.  She said, “Nooooooo, we can make it.”  Inspiration hit immediately.  And here we are.

So, I made CC a drop waist bubble skirt accented with fabric twists.  My husband saw me in the process and said, “Let me guess, you’re going to put a bow on that.”  He knows me all too well.

Side note:  I just realized that I’ve done some type of “drop” style these first two weeks.   Stay tuned to see what’s dropping next week.  Just kidding.  Lol.

No pattern was used.  Just simple rectangles using CC’s measurements.  The twists were cut from 1″ fabric strips.  Another winner for CC.  Her only qualm…..”the twists don’t dangle”.  It’s like that sometimes.

 

twist7

twist1

twist2

twist3

twist4

twist5

twist6

That’s a wrap!

20 thoughts on “Strawberry Twist

    1. Thanks Kim! It was certainly fun to make. CC knows how to get me going. When I didn’t think we would make anything for her last week, she explained that she really wanted a candy skirt. She got it!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

