My baby is growing up!

Curly Cutie has done it again.  Turned a year older that is.  Where has the time gone, and what am I supposed to be doing with myself now that my baby is growing up?  Kindergarten is a thing of the past, and before I know it she’ll be done with high school.

Well Curly Cutie and J-Renee had a blast at their little joint celebration.  This may be a yearly tradition for the two families.  It is so special to me that my friend and I are able to come together year after year to celebrate our daughters.  This was the friend that was told she would NEVER have children.  The last time I checked, it was the Lord who gives and sustains life.  Well he gave to her, she gladly received and we were both wobbling around at the same time with our first blessings from God.  Our girls are only one week apart.

And just as I did last year, I made them birthday outfits.  So, I thought I would share them.  I was going for the cute and simple look, and I believe I accomplished that with these Pillowcase Tunic’s and Ruffled Capri Pants.

girls frontAren’t they just darling?  There is a slight difference in the Capri Pants.  J-Renee’s have a wider leg than Curly Cutie’s.  I used a pair of size 5 capris from CC’s stash to draft the pant pattern.  I used a strip of fabric for the ruffle that was almost twice the width of the pant measurement and gathered that right on up.

There are so many tutorials out for pillow case dresses.  I did not settle on one to use to construct these tunics, but once you get the process down you can make one in your sleep.  I did find inspiration on Pinterest though.

Sewing_Double Layer Pillowcase Dress_DSC_7110This a Double Layer Pillowcase Dress by Aesthetic Nest.

I did not make this double layer tunic, but decided to recreate the look with a simple contrasting band for the hem.  So, I made CC’s tunic first.  She tried it on and was underwhelmed, but nice about the situation.

CC:  This is nice mom.  You did great work, but I’m not all that crazy about how big this top is.

Mom:  Is it too big for your liking?

CC:  Yeah, I think so.  It seems like a lot of fabric.

Mom:  Would you like me to take it in some?

CC:  Well, I really don’t want you to have to do it over again, but I think I would like that better.

Mom:  That is not a problem at all.  I can fix it.

CC:  Ok, thanks!  (and off she ran to continue playing)

This is such a sweet kid.  Not to mention, she has an eye on her.  She often gives me suggestions I then incorporate into the items I make.  I allowed her to choose the fabrics for these two outfits.

To fix the tunic, I turned it into more of an A-line top and cut arm holes from there.  Much better fit on the little ladies!  CC had a big smile on her face.  At that point I knew the design was complete.

I didn’t get a ton of pics, but here are some other shots.

cc back

j side2

cc side back

j sidecc sitting

 

both

Let me know if you’ve had any fun celebrations lately.

 

14 thoughts on “My baby is growing up!

  1. Those are adorable outfits! I like the a-line style. Happy birthday to the lovely ladies!

    My best friend from high school and I had baby girls three days apart — and same story — she was told having children likely wasn’t in her future. We are so blessed. 🙂

    1. Thanks Beth! It is always a joy sewing for the kiddies. It will be fun to see them grow up together if the Lord allows that opportunity. Oh, the wedding that I made the dress for has passed, so hopefully I can kick into gear and write a post about it.

  2. Tamika, this was like a “two for one” post with a conversation with Curly Cutie included, too. 🙂 I can only imagine how special she felt when you took her up on her thoughtful suggestions. (And I do mean thoughtful — what a considerate young lady you’re raising — and what a loving Mom you are.) She & her “almost birthday twin” J-Renee look adorable in their celebratory finery! I’m really liking that bow on the shoulder and ruffles on the capri’s… which just goes to show, babies may grow up, but girls will always be girls! xo

    1. “celebratory finery”……I love it, lol! And yes, I have no problem taking suggestions from her. She is growing up to be quite the young lady and I want her to know that what she “brings to the table” is valuable. I can’t even begin to tell of the many life lessons I have learned from this child. I can definitely see why the Lord gave her to us first. Thanks again Kim for your thoughtful comments!

  3. Tamika,
    I love the outfits you have created. I have been wanting to sew for quite some time, and I think I am ready to begin. I am looking for a sewing machine that will allow me to sew a variety of fabrics and stitches. Do you have any suggestions?

      1. I am doing well. I can’t complain. I agree we do need to catch up. You will have to send me your email or something. Thank you for the great info. I was able to find a sewing machine. I picked up a pattern for a shirt, and some material. Although slightly nervous, I am finally ready to begin. I will let you know how it turns out.

Go ahead and leave a drop!

