Summer knit dress

Here we are with another installment of Summer Clothes for Curly Cutie.

I’m starting to venture out into knit fabrics (outside of my refashioning ventures) and I must admit……I’m having fun!

I knew I wanted to try my hand at another circle skirt.

Back down memory Lane:  First circle skirt

polka dot circle skirtI pretty much fell for circle skirts after this one and knew I had to make more.  There are plenty tutorials out now that help with making these skirts.  I happened upon this one where I learned the basic principles for making them out of woven fabrics.  Since I wanted to make one from knit fabric I knew the measurements would have to be slightly adjusted.  For CC’s skirt, I just winged it.  I kept cutting away at the waist area until it fit her.  For others that need a more detailed method for making a circle skirt from knit fabric, this tutorial may be helpful.

Then I found Rae’s Angel Top where you use actual measurements to construct the garment.  I thought if I combined this top with a circle skirt that we would have a cute little dress on our hands.

dress front

dress side

dress back

And a little something she made for me.

gift

We both like this dress.  CC says it so comfortable.  Initially, I wasn’t really sold on the fabric.  It kinda played with my eyes, you know with the neon pink and gray stripes.  It did grow on me though.  Besides, the fabric was on clearance.  I like having this stuff on hand for when I come across projects I want to try.  I surely wouldn’t want to cut into expensive fabric to do a test run.  Just so happens, this test worked out for us.  If I make it again, I will make the top a little bigger so it’s not as close fitting.  I do like that the sleeves are incorporated into the design and don’t have to be put on separately.

This is how we’re clothing Curly Cutie for the summer!

 

 

22 thoughts on “Summer knit dress

    1. Thanks Rachel! Who knew making clothes for our kids could be so fun? I sure didn’t a few years ago. I can’t keep CC out of this dress. Once I paired it with her denim & lace vest I made during PR&P. She got a ton of compliments.

  1. This is adorable! I had never thought about taking my circle skirt love and using it with a dress….love it!

  2. Curly Cutie’s hot pink flip flops are perfect with this dress! (Spoken by an ardent advocate of flip flops, lol.) I always think of “knits” as being too hot to wear in the summer, yet some of my favorite tops and/or sundresses are made of those fabrics and I love them. CC nailed it when she described this dress as “so comfortable.” I did a double-take on the sleeves when you mentioned they weren’t sewn in — awesome design! Another needlework triumph, Tamika! 🙂

  3. You are quite a seamstress. I love your daughter’s cute outfits.
    Thank you so much for stopping by. I really appreciate your kinds words about my son’s room.

    1. Thank you Brandi! And thank you for stopping by. I enjoy seeing the creativity in your projects. The effort you put forth to beautify your home and feed your family good food is so neat to see. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

Go ahead and leave a drop!

