Fab Collab

Are you kidding me?  It’s the final week of season 6 over at Project Run and Play.  I made it through the sew along.  This is huge for me.  I set a goal and I achieved it.

I have a teench of joy to share.  So, my shirt from week 5 won the sew along judges vote.  That means I won a little prize.  Yaaayyy!

This has been so much fun, and let me tell you, the other women in the main competition as well as the sew along are amazing!  So many different styles.  So many beautiful fabrics.  It was just great.

front

Well, I guess I’ll finish this thing up by sharing the look I created for my signature style.  Honestly, I have no clue what my style is at this point.  I feel like I’m too new in the game.  I don’t know.  Maybe some kind soul out there can shed some light.  I will tell you this, I am particularly fond of a few things.  For this design, I decided to use a collaboration of things I’ve found to be fabulous.  Black & White, denim, lace, and pearls.  Not to mention, my appreciation for upcycling is growing exponentially.  Oh, and I love the art of layering.  If you can make any sense of this please do, and then tell me.

The items upcycled for this look were a pair of denim capris and a vintage lace curtain.

denim and lace

Put these two together and what do we get?

cropped jacketPattern was self-drafted for this project.  I took my inspiration from a cropped jacket given to me by one of my dearest friends several years ago.  Thanks Sally!  Collar can be worn down, but for Curly Cutie I went ahead and popped it!  Aggghhhh!  Lol!  The knit tank underneath was store bought last summer.

denim and lace2

I have been itching to try my hand at a circle skirt.  I have wanted to make one since my look for week 2 when I found out I didn’t have enough fabric.  I thought this would be the perfect time to crank one out.  I found a tutorial from Dana to be quite helpful in making this type of skirt.  I opted for a fabric waistband in place of the elastic one in the tutorial.

circle skirt top view

I can see why these skirts are well loved.  Simple and cute.  This certainly will not be my last.  CC gave me a huge hug after we put on her outfit.  She was soooo happy.  She told me that she is very proud that we made it all 6 weeks and that we make a great team.  *Cue waterworks.  I didn’t really cry, but my heart was deeply moved.

pic 79

signature collageHow about those purple and pink footies?

And that’s a wrap!  I am linking up to Project Run and Play and The Train To Crazy this week.  Thanks to all that left me such sweet comments and words of encouragement throughout the sew along.  It is truly appreciated.  Why am I sounding like I just won an award?  Well, maybe I have in my own mind.

Goal #1 – Join sew along and upload a design weekly – check

Goal #2 – Do not purchase any items to complete designs – check

P.S.

Goal #3 – Keep up with house chores – epic fail

I’m off to clean.  Onward sewing soldiers!!!!!

 

35 thoughts on “Fab Collab

    1. Ha! Thanks. So, it’s not just me? I will be spending my Valentine’s day cleaning. It works out for me though since my husbands love language is “acts of service”. He’ll feel super loved when he can see the dining room table. Lol!

  1. One of the best parts of this sew-along has been discovering other bloggers, including you Tamika! I’m so glad your top won last week! Well deserved!

    Great look this week, too. That vest is glorious. It won’t be long until my baby girl is big enough to twirl in a circle skirt. The polka dot version is marvelous!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. I live your gorgeous outfit! And good on you for commiting to and completing the whole 6 weeks, I only managed 2. And also on not purchasing anything extra, that always wins a point in my book 🙂

    1. Thanks so much Karla! Hey, 2 weeks is awesome. We do what we can and I’m finding that that is perfectly fine. This is quite monumental for me. In my 30+ years, I don’t recall committing to a project with such intensity and passion as I have this sew along. It was a wonderful feeling to be working at something that I absolutely enjoy and seeing it through to completion. And I decided not to purchase any items because I am trying to really distinguish between wants and needs. Not having a plethora of materials at my disposal has sparked a fire in the creativity department. So, the lessons I’ve learned from this six weeks is so much bigger than my sewing machine. Ha! Don’t know where all this came from, but thanks for the comment. Lol!

  3. another fabulous outfit, I love (and am impressed at) how you have managed to upcycle so many unwanted items in this challenge. Congratulations on achieving 2 goals!

  4. so cute !
    #3 hasn’t gotten done much around here this past year 😦
    my primary love language is acts of service, too (like mr clouds full of rain), so I would feel very loved if some one did the cleaning around here:)
    btw, I love your blog name ~ clouds full of rain, maybe because it is similar to mine? ~ nest full of eggs… both about nature 🙂 so anyway, maybe that makes us blogging sisters??

    1. Ha! Thanks Rachel! You’ll get to the cleaning when you get to it. Or you can have someone else do it.
      I think it’s a shame, but my husband can “clean circles around me”. He is just that good. Somewhere I got off the development train when it came to cleaning. Lol. Funny point you make about our blog names. That’s neat. I think that does make us sister!

  5. My mum made me a circle skirt when I was a kid, and it was my favourite for years. Luckily, it started long and it coincided with a period of growth when I grew taller but not thicker around the waist; I could keep wearing it even though it got shorter each year. I hope Curly Cutie gets the same enjoyment from spinnning in full circles and watching her skirt spin around her. (The simple joys of being a kid, eh!)

    1. At the rate Curly Cutie is going she could pull off the same thing. I’m so excited to be sewing clothes for her now. I feel like the possibilities are endless. Maybe I’ll make her wedding dress one day if she chooses that for her life. Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing a piece of your history. Much appreciated.

    1. Thank you! I don’t know that I would have ever used the word clever to describe what I do. Lol. Inspiration is all around me. I am just grateful for the ability to bring an idea to life. I do it with fabric, you do it with words! Thanks again for stopping by.

    1. Suzanne you are super! Thanks for your comment. Um, I checked out your site and you are quite the photographer ma’am! Let me just apologize for the pictures you’ve had to endure on my blog. Lol! Glad you like the outfit.

  6. I love this!! And how cute what your daughter said! Vincent isn’t quite that grateful yet, only if i make him a superhero shirt.. hah. I love that top,I want it for me!

    1. Thanks Max! I’m sure Vincent will get there. He’s going to look back on these days and see just how amazing his mom was. You need to get cracking on a superhero shirt though. LOL! Thanks for stopping by.

    1. Ha! Thanks Charity. I know….you look from the front, then she turns around and BAM! LOL! I thought long and hard about how I could incorporate all these things that I love. Thanks so much for stopping by an commenting.

  7. Tamika, I don’t know which category your sewing style falls into — tailored meets whimsical? All I know is that it’s very appealing and I wish those outfits came in adult sizes. 🙂

    1. Kim, I think you’re on to something. I do like clean lines and I feel what I’ve made during the sew along has been cute and playful. Thank you for the compliment. Now, you know we can make this stuff in larger sizes. Lol!

  8. I love the lace back. I have been trying to think of a good way to do lace for my daughter in a way that does not seem to be trying to be sexy. And a lace back of a jacket seems like a great idea. ~Major Moma

    1. Thank you Major Moma! I hear you on the whole non-sexy deal. I thought it would be cool to add it to the back since CC would already have some kind of shirt on underneath. I really like how it turned out. Thanks for stopping by again!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

