My Chocolate Drop

Week #3 of Project Run and Play Season 6 is here.  The theme for this week is a boy look.  So quite naturally I used the tot I have on hand.  This theme was quite intimidating if I may say so.  I had not yet ventured into making clothes for my sweet baby boy just yet.  I am really enjoying this sew along because it’s forcing me to go where I have not traveled.

I am all about simplicity, so I decided on a simple sweater, pair of pants, and a hooded sweater vest.  And you already know where my fabric came from.  My stash.

boy look fabric

Golden sweater is 100% cotton.  Tan sweater is a soft wool.  Dark chocolate pants are a stretch corduroy.  AV baby’s outfit is comfortable and moveable.  Just perfect for bringing all his stuffed animals into submission.  Lol!

av5

I ended up using clothes he already wears as patterns.  They seemed to work out just fine.  I definitely knew I needed to make a pair of pants to cover the largeness of his bottom with a cloth diaper on.  We are still going strong.  Well, maybe slightly weakened.  I need to find another solution as this little guy is an extremely heavy wetter.  These diapers just don’t stand a chance for more than an hour.  I digress.  Here are more pics of my guy.

av1

av2 av4

Doesn’t he just look like a little peanut butter and chocolate morsel of goodness?  My husband loathes when I refer to colors as food items.  I’m sorry babe, but I just can’t help it.  Lol.  No matter what color he’s wearing, he’ll always be my chocolate drop!

38 thoughts on “My Chocolate Drop

    1. Awww, thanks Karly! Yep, I have a lot of firsts going on right now. So fun. I have made some cloth diapers for him, but that’s been the extent. So, I am so grateful for all the wonderful women that have shared their experiences with making clothes for their children. I am learning so much.

  1. Wow, great refashion. You’re little man is adorable! Ps, we had the same problem with cotton flats, that plus my little man’s tiny bum and we didn’t stand a chance.j

    1. Thanks Mikelina! Yeah, we are using flats too, but I ended up making some soakers out of flannel, terry cloth and cotton batting to add to the flats. He just drinks SO much that I think it would be hard for anything to contain him. I just have to change him very frequently. I checked out your blog. You are rockin’ that hair girl! Don’t you just love a good refashion?

  2. Love these refashions! So sweet! And I just thought I’d mention that I’ve cloth diapered my four kiddos and using a hemp/cotton prefold in a cover has worked well for us. I use the brand “Hemp Babies”.

  3. Awwwwwwww! He is adorable! I know what you mean about sewing for boys. I haven’t ventured much into this realm either, but I need to for my new little grandson. I love how you used items from your stash to make his little outfit. Love the colors and I bet it’s just as soft and comfy as it looks. 🙂
    Beth

    1. Awww, you have a new little grandson. It is just something special about little babies. You know how we do Beth, we give new life to old things. It is very comfy. I don’t think I’ve ever felt any wool like that tan sweater. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Oh he is just so incredibly sweet!! My boy is eight now and seeing all of these little boys in their cute outfits makes me want another one very soon. My kids have been asking for a baby brother maybe it is time I oblige them 🙂

    1. Ha! Yes indeed. There is no time like the present! My husband often looks at me when our son is at high energy and moving all around. He proceeds to say, “this is what you wanted though.” Lol! Yep, it is. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Perfect, Tamika! You should definitely keep making things for this little man. This is so cute. (Love the food reference. That color combination IS pretty yummy! Ha! Ha!)

  6. Tamika, your lil’ blessing GREW. What a handsome young lad and so cute in your handiwork! I’m amazed at all of your clothing re-do’s, but you have an eye for possibilities.

    1. Hey Kim! Yes, he is quite the chunkster. You never would have known he struggled to pick up weight in those first few months. He has more than made up for that, and I’m grateful for it. Lol. It’s been so much fun creating items for the kiddos. Who knew sewing would be so much fun?

Go ahead and leave a drop!

