Purse party of sorts

I guess that is what it’s turned into over here.  One request has sent me diving head first into the beautiful world of purses/handbags….whatever you want to call them.  I have come up for a breath long enough to share my craftings.

So, my first challenge was to make a purse to be given to a mom as a gift.  No frills and thrills, just a basic bag.  I searched around for purse tutorials as I had absolutely no clue how to make one.  There are a plethora of wonderful purse tutorials out there.  I settled on this one over at warehousefabricsinc.com.

Pleated-bag-tutorial

The instructions were pretty easy to follow.  I decided to omit the piping they included in their bag.

Finished product

inside of purse
inside of purse

One cool thing about this purse is that the fabrics used were upcycled curtain remnants (They were never used as curtains, fabric was pretty much new and unused when given to me).  The pleats are just so adorable to me.  I later added the flower for visual interest.  It has one snap closure and two pockets on the inside.

After the bag was done, I was all excited and like, “Yay, I made my first purse.”  I was just hoping my friend’s mom would like it.  A day later I decided to make another purse.  Not that I thought anything was wrong with the first, I just wanted to give my friend a second potential bag to choose for her mom.  I knew I wanted to make it a little more jazzy, and of course it had to have black and white in it.  I know, some would think that color combo gets old after a while.  Well, for me, NEVER….ha, ha, ha.

I used an actual pattern (the kind in the envelope) for this second bag.  I have no for real clue how to read these commercial patterns, but am determined to learn that my skills may increase.  The pattern used was Butterick B5766 bag D

Butterick bag 5766-D

One thing I like about both of these bags is how roomy they are inside.

Here’s my take on it.

bag2

I had to ask my friend to snap a pick and send it to me because, for some reason, I often make things and they leave my hands before I capture them on film.  My husband goes on and on about how my ways need to change.  Lol.  I agree.  How will I know what I’ve done without a record?  I’m trying to do better.  My friend so graciously sent this one to me.  I’m so glad because I absolutely loved this one.  And it goes without saying that she decided on this one for her mom as opposed to the first purse.  So glad I went with my thoughts to make a second purse.

The party doesn’t end there folks.  I figured, why let the momentum die?  I went on to make a third purse.  Recipient = my 12 yr old niece-y-pooh.  I had another paper pattern on hand, and thought it was a great time to give it a go.  I used Butterick B5505 bag B.

pyramid bagVery reminiscent of a pyramid in my opinion.  I was glad to have successfully completed the bags above, because they gave me the confidence I needed to tackle this one. Lots of intricate details went into making this bag.  It is such a fun bag.  Hopefully my niece likes it.  She’s into black and white too.

Finished product

pyramid bag front
bag front
pyramid bag back
bag back
bag inside
bag inside
bag zipper opening
bag side zipper opening
bag front flap
bag front flap with hidden smaller zipper pocket and magnetic snap

I was happy with the way this bag turned out.  Other suggested fabrics were synthetic suede or synthetic leather.  I’d like to make another one out of suede or leather in the future.

I’ll stop here for now.  There are a few more to share.  It’s like I started and did not stop.  Time really does fly by when you are having fun.  I am so glad I did not continue on in fear when it comes to sewing.  I would not be experiencing the beauty of creating in this manner if I had.  It took me so long to jump in because sewing seemed so intimidating.  I am amazed with the completion of each project.

If there is something you have been longing to do (I’m not talking about the silly stuff we long to do that would bring no true benefit to ourselves and others), you might just have to jump in…..fear and all.  Fear is only successful when it prevents us from jumping in.  Even if you don’t think you have all the resources you need.  There is something special about starting where you are and with what you have in front of you.  It seems that additional resources come when they are needed.

8 thoughts on “Purse party of sorts

  1. I love all the bags! I made a tote bag for my mom in Textiles at MU. It really is rewarding to see a pile of fabric become something useful. You make me want to go buy a pattern and make something.

    1. Thanks Ty! You should definitely make something. The other day I was thinking about a project you made in one of your classes. The one where you took a child’s photo and re-created it. I forgot what you call the technique. It was so cool though.

  2. Careful – once you start making bags, it is hard to stop! I have dozens of bags hanging off my radiator, I need to try and sell them on etsy as I can’t stop making them!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

