A holiday gift

There is a special woman in my life that has encouraged me from the first day we met.  She’s the kind of person that sees things in people that they might not see in themselves, and continues to talk about those things until she sees fruit from it.  She adores my family, and cannot keep herself from bringing our children gifts at least once a month.  Seriously.

One day she was telling me about her recent trip to a craft fair and all the goodies she saw.  There were beautiful Christmas-themed table dressings she had her eyes on.  She mentioned her desire for a holiday table runner.

My wheels began turning, and I decided I would make one for her.  Her style is very different than my own, so I did a lot of praying while I walked through the fabric store.  If I had my way, it probably would have been black and white.  I really hoped she would like my selection.  Only time would tell.

When I got home, this is what I had to work with…..

 

 

I forgot to mention my project inspiration came from a lovely lady over at the Missouri Star Quilt Company.  They are pretty much amazing.

 

 

It was very helpful to have a tutorial to follow since I had never attempted a project like this before.

For the finished project….

 

 

 

 

With the leftover fabric, I decided to get a little jazzy and make a drawstring bag for the gift.

 

 

Last but not least, I wanted to sneak in a set of matching quilted coasters.

 

 

I was pretty happy with how things turned out.  I definitely took note of the areas I need to give special attention to if I make another project like this.  Sometimes I get so excited when working on projects that I just want to get it done.  I am learning that patience is my friend.  The project will get done.

Are you creating anything special to give this season?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “A holiday gift

  1. Oh, this is marvelous, Tamika! My next door neighbor is encouraging me to begin quilting and suggested a table runner as a beginning project. I’m so inspired by your creation. Love the gift bag and the coasters. Amazing!

  2. Your friend is sure to love this gift, Tamika! Those quilted coasters are creative, too, and will look nice with the table runner. I’m still working on that quilted pillow for my sister (that I started 5 years ago…) 😉

    1. She loved it! I was so happy. She said she’s been showing it to everyone that has come over, and telling her friends about it. She sews too, so it’s funny hearing her talk about it. You are cracking me up about this pillow!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

