Paint on Canvas

Curly Cutie is quite the character.  If you are not familiar, just read a few of these conversations.  It is so interesting to see our children’s personalities develop and blossom.  Curly Cutie is quite the artist too.  She often enjoys showing me her artwork after it’s freshly created.  I’m sure she enjoys the big smile that comes over my face, and the “you are pretty much amazing” that comes out of my mouth.  I’m so thankful for these moments.  I come away from the “you know you’re supposed to pick that up” or  “why are you doing that” moments.  I can celebrate her.

One day she brings her work over for me to have a look.

She told me they were party balloons.  I was like, “hey!”  My face must have lit up like a Christmas tree.  I thought her artwork was really neat.  I loved her selection of colors, and the simplicity of the layout.  Instantly I knew we had to do something else with this piece.

Later on that evening, she let her dad have a look.  Immediately he said, “You should paint that on a canvas.”  That’s it.  I wanted to see her do something else with it, and she loves to get in paint.

The supplies were gathered and Curly Cutie was ready to go.

I provided a bit of coaching and helped her with the placement of the circles.  Then, I turned her loose.  It seemed like she was enjoying the process.  I could hear her talking about what she wanted to do with all the colors.  After a while,  her project was complete.

Pretty nice.  She was excited.  I was excited.  Up on the wall it went.

2 thoughts on “Paint on Canvas

Go ahead and leave a drop!

