Bitter Berries

I picked up a package of blackberries from the grocery store in hopes of a treat.  What I bit into made me want to re-treat.  It wouldn’t have been so bad if these berries had not set me back a cool $2.99 for just 6 oz.  Who am I kidding?  It would have been a bad situation if they were a quarter.  They were not good.

I was all excited.  Curly Cutie was pumped up.  It was about to be one happy berry eating fest over here.  But no.  I should have known something was up when I opened the container.

Suspect berries

Fully ripened berries are all black.  I see those highlights.

So, what to do?  I totally could not eat these straight from the package.

SMOOTHIE!!!  That’s what you can do with bitter berries.

Curly Cutie and I jumped right to it.

Into a blender, we added some frozen grape  juice concentrate.  We decided not to go with a dairy base.

Then we started adding fruit.

Frozen strawberries

One fresh banana

and bitter berries

We added ice cubes after initial blend as the consistency was a little runny.

After blending that up…..voila.  Just what we were going for.

This would have not been the perfect snack without our other favorite.  POPCORN!  I kissed microwave popcorn good-bye a long time ago when I started making fresh popcorn on the stove top.  Nothing like it I tell ya.  We use coconut oil to pop the corn, and it gives a nice hint of coconut with each bite.  Not overpowering though, even the Mr. (not a fan of coconut) can get down with this popcorn.

Curly Cutie just lights up when I serve her beverage in a glass.  We sat down and enjoyed a moment together while baby boy napped.

Crisis averted.    I’m sure there are many other things you can do with bitter berries.  Our smoothies were delicious, and my frugal mind could return to a state of peace.

 

What do you do with bitter fruit?

4 thoughts on “Bitter Berries

  1. Tamika, love your the idea of serving a smoothie with popcorn… that sounds so good! Neat that you make it “the old fashioned way.” (The popcorn, not the smoothie!) I ran into bitter berries when I cooked dinner for my daughter… more like “no taste berries”… recycled them into a vinaigrette. 🙂 Whatever works, eh?!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

