It’s K for Curly Cutie

Just thought I would drop in to say Curly Cutie is officially in Kindergarten!  Hard for me to believe.  It’s here and we’re homeschooling.  What have I gotten myself into?  I wish I had all the answers.  Maybe not, I’d probably be too proud.  Glad I have to take this thing one day at a time.

I found a really neat resource online that helps you generate handwriting practice worksheets.  This is perfect for CC and I.  She is able to practice writing her letters, and I can decide what she writes.

Every day she practices writing at least one scripture.  One of our goals is to read a Proverb a day each month.  There are 31 Proverbs in the Bible, so that’s one for each day (of the months that have 31 days).  We make adjustments for the other months.

The handwriting worksheet serves as a reinforcement to what we’ve read for the day.  One of my goals is to raise an excellent communicator, what better way to encourage goodness to come from her mouth than feeding it the Word of God.

Here is an example of a worksheet generated from the seventh verse of the first chapter of Proverbs  (She would write this on the first day of the month):

Generated at http://www.handwritingworksheets.com
8 thoughts on “It’s K for Curly Cutie

  1. I love this Mommy Mika! I am so proud of you and B on the homeschooling. You two are awesome parents. An excellcent way to incorporate the Word in daily lives of our children. Thanks for sharing and caring enough to spread the word. I will definitely use this for my kidos as well. Now you started something at my household as well. As for me and my house we shall serve the Lord. Much love and congratulations CC on starting Kindergarten. Love TT Cynthia!

    1. Aww thanks friend. I found some other resources online that include scripture copywork as part of their curriculum. I was too excited when I found this handwriting resource so I could make my own. I have CC practicing other things like her full name, address, and phone number all from sheets I made from that website. Pretty cool. Thanks for stopping by my friend. Love you!

  2. Dropping in to say “Hi”, Tamika!
    Our youngest one started Kindergarten this year, too. It’s been an interesting dynamic having all 6 in our homeschool class, but it’s been a good one. Blessings to you as you continue to plant the good seeds of GOD’s Word into her precious heart. – Happy Day! (Great worksheet idea, by the way!)

    -Shannon

    1. Thanks for stopping by. My hat is certainly off to you Ms. Shannon! I cannot even wrap my mind around homeshcooling six children. I would love to be a fly on the wall in your homeschool classroom for a day or two. How have you chosen to do kindergarten in your home? Thanks for the blessings. The same to you!

      1. Well, the way we’ve chosen to do kindergarten with our last child is quite a bit different from how we worked with our first. We actually have him learning right along with the older ones. Whatever subject we’re discussing, we include him. It’s really been interesting to watch him navigate around the subject matter to find his own space. For example, when I write something on our board for our older ones, I encourage him to do the copy work as well. Even if it’s just a few of the letters, he’s practicing his writing and that’s what’s important. When the kids do their reports, he stands up in front of everyone and participates as well. The kids might be talking about history and he might be talking about Thomas the Train, but he’s still developing his speaking skills and learning to stand up in front of others and explain concepts. It’s challenging, but it works.

        It sounds like you’re off to a fantastic start, Tamika. Starting out can be a little intimidating at first, especially when you have little ones, but it will all work out just fine. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Just keep her close to you and be her example. One of the blessings of homeschooling (that I’ve found) is the great opportunity to share the experience of learning with our children. While ABC’s and 123’s are important, it’s cultivating the desire to learn that makes the biggest difference.

        If you ever have any questions, I’d be more than happy to share what I’ve learned (and what I’m still learning) along the way.

        Enjoy your weekend!

      2. Thank you so much Shannon for your insight. I am definitely trying to take things easy. I definitely agree that cultivating a desire to learn is key. My daughter is already showing signs of independence. Before I know it, she’ll take right off on her quest for knowledge. We are focusing heavily on reading and writing, and she seems to be responding well. I’m sure I will have questions. Thank you so much for making yourself available to answer them. It is truly appreciated.

  3. I always loved that kind of “writing paper” — now you’ve given me a Reason to love it even more! What an awesome resource and fantastic teaching method.

Go ahead and leave a drop!

