5 days, 5 gifts – Day 5

Start with Day 1 if you missed it.

Well, tis the final day in this series.  The love for handmade items is growing, and I’m glad to be apart of the movement.  This last gift was made for a person I am fond of.  Curly Cutie of course.  When I came across this item, I knew immediately it had to be done.  She would just be so cute lugging it around.  And I knew it was the perfect item to make with the fabric that was given to me at my first rummage sale.  Well actually, a gal saw a necklace I was selling and we decided to do an even exchange.

The fabric was pre-quilted with coordinating fabrics.  Cute girly colors and everything.  No, it didn’t match the black and white set  I made for her big sister gift.  I didn’t care though.  I used a tutorial over at Twelve Crafts Till Christmas for this project.  It took some tweaking since my fabric was already quilted.  Actually, it just made the project that much simpler. 

The Doll Bassinet

You can see the two sides of the fabric.  I’m thinking the inside should have really been the outside.  It is such a fun print.  But I like the dots too.

Here are a couple of pics with her baby in the bassinet.

Never mind that she doesn’t have any bottoms on.  We were doing great for her to have a shirt on in the second pic.  I don’t know what the fascination is with some kids stripping the dolls down and leaving them that way.  Guess who has not recieved a request for doll clothes?  That would be me.  Am I complaining?  That’s a “no”.

It’s so fun to watch Curly Cutie in action.  So glad I was able to make this item for her.

That’s a wrap folks!  Another peek into my beautiful handmade life.

Out of the 5 days, do you have a favorite?  I love them all so, I don’t even think I can pick a fav.  If I had to chose, I would probably go with Day 4.  I wonder what this year has in store.
10 thoughts on “5 days, 5 gifts – Day 5

    1. Thanks so much! My husband had me cracking up talking about me, because when I would clean up I just moved the diaper cake around the house since I really didn’t have a place to store it. Not to mention, I hadn’t found anyone to give it to yet. Thanks for stopping by again. Take care.

  1. I have no clue who you are, where you live……. but I love you sharing part of your life with the world. I read your blog when you post. Those 5 gifts were amazing! You are truly a blessing! Thanks for sharing love with me and the world! Peace & Blessings! Asil

    1. Asil, thanks for such kind words! Thanks for taking time out of your day to read the few words I write every now and then. Glad you liked the gifts. I had a great time making them. Never thought sewing would bring so much enjoyment. Peace & Blessings to you as well!

  2. Tamika, this comment goes back to your first post in this series and the changes you’ve experienced in a year’s time. Happy Blog Birthday! That’s an accomplishment in itself, let alone with one, then two children vying for your attention. It’s been so fun to read about you, your family, projects, ideas, etc. — plus your introspective posts — all have been a blessing! Congratulations on “all of the above!” 🙂

    1. Thanks so much Kim! So hard to believe it’s been a year already. The pregnancy made the time fly by I think. I didn’t know it had been a year for you too. I enjoy reading your blog when I am able! It will be interesting to see what transpires this year.

  3. Lady, you are so awesome. I remember when you started your journey and I’ve personally seen some of your wonderful creation. They were flawless. It is my hope that one day I will get a chance to sit at your feet and hear words of wisdom and instruction again. Then maybe I will learn how to use that sewing machine my husband bought me 2 years ago.As I’ve been reading your blogs I couldn’t help but dream of seeing your line of unique creations in boutiques.
    Love you and admire you as much.
    SajaChrist

  4. Oh, I forgot to mention, you were so kind as to gift the diaper cake to someone you didn’t even know, as if it were a gift from me. They knew it wasn’t. It was used as the center peice for the gift table. They still mention it. Thanks for blogging.
    SajaChrist

Go ahead and leave a drop!

