Mirror turned chalkboard

Well, it looks like plans to homeschool Curly Cutie are underway.  She begins kindergarten in the fall.  I was faced with the question of how to turn her living space into a “haven of learning” that is functional and fun.  Not to mention it must be done frugally.  I attempted to enlist the help of a friend that is absolutely great with organizing, but schedule conflicts made it difficult to meet.  So, I was left to my own devices to try and come up with an arrangement for CC’s room.

Lesson from 2011:  You can do a lot more than you think you’re capable of. 

There are several components I want to see in the room, one being a chalkboard.  I have a child that loves to write on just about any surface.  I wanted to provide her with an acceptable outlet.  My mind immediately went to thinking about how I could tackle this project.  I had heard about chalkboard paint, but wasn’t familiar with the surfaces that could accommodate the paint.  Once I learned that the paint could be used on glass, I knew we were in business.  I had a mirror just sitting in my garage that would be perfect for her space.  It originally belonged to a dresser we used in our bedroom.  We turned the dresser into a “buffet-like” piece of furniture that already has a mirror above it.

frame after mirror was removed

 The process was very simple.  I didn’t take many pictures.  Sometimes I get so excited, I just want to finish the project.

  1. Removed mirror from frame
  2. Cleaned mirror and let dry
  3. Painted first coat and let dry for an hour
  4. Painted second coat and let dry for an hour
  5. Painted final coat (The 3rd coat gave me that nice black look I was going for and I could not see any mirror through the paint.  This may be different for other people)

6.  Let mirror cure for 3 days like directions recommended, and secured to wall with simple mirror hardware

7.  Conditioned board by turning a piece of chalk sideways and completely covering the chalkboard

curly cutie enjoyed this step

8.  Erased chalkboard and it was ready to go!

Lots of people have done some really creative projects with this paint.  Can you think of anything cool to turn into a chalkboard?

6 thoughts on “Mirror turned chalkboard

  1. What a great idea! Makes me want to break out the sidewalk chalk. (Indoors!) 🙂 Somehow I think we are going to be graced with Curly Cutie’s visual perceptions of God’s world in upcoming posts… can’t wait!

  2. Hi again, Tamika! I’ve been moving things around on my blog — you went “missing” for a few days, but I think I’ve finally got you where I want you. 🙂 You ARE an inspiration to me!

  3. That looks lovely! I love to ‘upcycle’ things and I think I’d go crazy if I had a can of chalkboard paint 😀 and Curly Cutie definitely looks like she enjoyed the ‘conditioning’ step 🙂

    1. Thank you! I pretty much lost it over here with that chalkboard paint. It’s been going on everything. The chalkboard is definitely a highlight with Curly Cutie. And we she has company over, they go straight to it.

Go ahead and leave a drop!

