“Do you want to know what you’re having?”

This is what the sonographer asked me at my first scheduled ultrasound.

Of course I do!”

Now, interestingly enough, I had just declined my husbands request to load up “curly cutie” and have them both accompany me to the appointment.  Why?  Well, it was 8:30 in the morning and, technically, I was not supposed to find out this information until next month.  So, I rested on the table in a perfectly dimly lit room.  The mood was set for a most beautiful nap.  I don’t think I’ve ever gotten so much sleep in my life.  I was too excited to go to sleep though, for I was about to hear the news of the century!

Do let me say that my husband already had this thing figured out.  A couple days after we found out we were expecting, he came to me with his thoughts on the gender and name of the baby.  I just laughed.  He did not.  He was serious as serious can be.  He had prayed.  I told him I would pray the opposite of what he was praying.  Lol!  I didn’t really do that, but we have this running joke between the two of us.  If one says something the other doesn’t 100% agree with, we say that we will pray the opposite.  Of course the opposite is whatever we want.  I know, silly, but we always get a good laugh out of it.  This was no exception, because his chosen name had me hollerin’.  My husband definitely has an “old soul”, but I was not expecting him to take it that far back on me.  Maybe I’ll share the name later, but for now just know that “I hollered” (that’s a term we use for laughing hard and loud).  So, as I rested on the table, I didn’t feel too bad about him not being there.  He already had it figured out.  For him “faith was not surprised”.

This baby is certainly not ashamed,” the sonographer said.  I laughed.

The first thing she could see was genitals.  All you could see was little legs in the air.  I won’t put the baby out there like that.  But I will show this…

The hubs was absolutely correct.  We are preparing to receive a beautiful baby boy at November’s end.  You should just see the excitement going on over here.

Well, that’s all for now.  I will be back to share some things we have in the works over here.  It’s “newness” all around.  Things will be quite different from the time “curly cutie” came “on the scene”.

Oh, “Operation Accumulation” has begun.  Remember when I mentioned that we gave pretty much everything away pertaining to babies?  Well, the blessings seem to be taking us over already and I hadn’t really gotten anything “kicked off” yet.  Praising God for His faithfulness.

Where have you been experiencing new life?  I’m convinced it is all around us.  Physical/emotional/spiritual/financial/mental, etc?

3 thoughts on ““Do you want to know what you’re having?”

  1. Congratulations! What exciting news! I agree, new life is everywhere. Circumstances can remain the same, but the power of God infused into any stagnant situation will breathe the breath of life into it and make all things new!

  2. I was so totally wrong! Ha! Was totally stressing today and the Lord gave me an image to paint. Immediately. Started and the first layer is drying at the moment. Talk to you soon, girlie!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

