The Great Shutdown (part 3)

Just in case, here is part 1 and part 2.

Actually this part of the story could really be referred to as “The Great Revival”.  Unbeknownst to me, the part of my heart that had been shut down began to be massaged.

I did make it to college.  I’ll have to dedicate a completely different post to my college years, for they were many.  Lol!  For now, I will share moments that were rather shocking to me then……but necessary to the revival of my heart.

If the truth be told, I did not come alive in my college career until I changed my major.  I am every bit of an Introverted-Intuitive-Feeling-Perceive(r).  So, you can pretty much figure out what I chose (if you are familiar with Myers-Briggs).  Social Work, mixed with a little Human Development and Family Studies, and a little Religious Studies.  Well, maybe you didn’t guess all of that together, but the social work part is what I’m mainly referring to.  What in the world was I doing in Engineering?  Oh, I know.  It was that inner vow I made to myself never to be poor and never have to depend on people for anything.  Ha!  What foolishness.  Those things never work.  Can somebody say, “we were created for community?”  Either way, I’m getting off track.  I’m supposed to be talking about my heart and saving this info for another post.  So, let’s get back to it.

Do keep in mind that turning in written assignments were like moments of terror for me.  I had lost all belief that I could do this thing.  It was so much easier cranking out math problems.  I didn’t need my heart for that.  At this point, I couldn’t run though.  Either I did my share of the work, or I went home.  I did have my share of the didn’t do’s, and almost went home.  But, the One who calls me is FAITHFUL!

I had some really great professors.  So, here is why the blood began to flow to parts of my heart again….

from a paper written in a social work class
from an essay written for a religious studies exam
from a religious studies paper
from a presentation review for a social work class

All I have to say is….He makes all things new.  If dry bones can live again, surely my heart can too.  The last part of this series is a “Letter to my heart”, coming soon.

Anything in you need a bit of reviving?

 

5 thoughts on “The Great Shutdown (part 3)

  1. I find myself totally cheering for you like I do all the ladies in the midst of great stories of survival and self-discovery! I can’t wait to hear more of your story! Blessings!

  2. It’s been so interesting to follows this series as your heart follows God’s lead. Aah, revival! I need reviving in the musical part of my heart. “Soon and very soon…” 🙂

Go ahead and leave a drop!

