Give, and it shall be given….

unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over shall men give into your bosom.  For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.  Luke 6:38

A striking thought came to me yesterday.  As I began to look around my house and think about the craft projects I’ve done, I noticed a pattern.  Most materials used for these projects were given to me by someone else.  This is not true for all of my projects, but quite a few of them.

So, “curly cutie” and I were contacted yesterday by one of our very sweet neighbors who happens to be an older lady.  She needed help threading her sewing machine.  Of course when we arrived, she wanted to sit at the kitchen table and talk a bit, giving the back room (where machine is located) time to warm up.  She loathes cold weather.  We sat there as she talked about the goodness of the Lord in her life.  I am always encouraged to listen to these “faith veterans”.  They are so full of life and wisdom.

After a while, we moved into the back room, threaded the machine, and talked more.  I did most of the listening, and was happy to do that.  When we walked out of her home, we were sent with a homemade cherry pie (of course she laid some back for herself – gotta love it),

Cherry pie in carrying case. Case is definitely "taking me back".

a pair of pajamas,

and stuffing to make a pillow.

Lol!  Talk about “running over”.  My arms were completely full.  I was so glad that pie carrier came with a handle.

Later on that evening, I received a call from the same neighbor.  She stopped by Joann’s (the fabric store) on her way home.  What did she happen to pick up?

Material she thought I might be able to use to make that pillow with.  Anybody else see a pattern here?  First it was the quilt.  Now, the pillow.  Am I being forced to sew against my will?  Lol!  Or is this another “gentle nudge” from my Father?

I did forget to mention that I had a conversation with this very neighbor over two years ago.  She had already mentioned to me her love of sewing.  I asked if she would be willing to help me learn a few skills, as I had a desire to learn.  She agreed, but did let me know I would need a machine.  So, the machine that was given to me about two years ago was probably the result of a prayer that was prayed after this very conversation with my neighbor.  After I finished my first quilt, I took it to her for evaluation.  She was so happy and impressed.  Maybe this is a “gentle nudge”.

You already know I “got down to business”.  Lol!  The flannel remnant she gave to me was approximately .611 yards long.  I could have made one small pillow, but I wanted to do something a little different.  So, I went through the house and found these……..

pair of too big dress pants

The color of these matched perfectly to the butterflies in the flannel.  Here is what I made……

baby rag quilt with matching pillow

I cannot wait to show my neighbor!  Where will this journey take me next?  I fell so blessed that people have a desire to invest in me.  I want to do the same thing for those around me.  It’s so funny to me how people can see things in us that we can’t see in ourselves.

May there always be something “in my hands” to give.

What have you created lately (craft or non-craft)?

8 thoughts on “Give, and it shall be given….

  1. That baby quilt is SO beautiful, Tamika! What a gift you have for sharing God’s love — in words, actions, and time well-spent. Thanks so much for sharing your heart!

    Re: craft or non-craft creativity — I’m making chocolate chip cookies for my hubby this afternoon to “surprise” him when he comes home from work. 🙂

      1. Yup, he even ate some for breakfast this morning! (And I must confess, I “savored” two after lunch…) 🙂

        By the way, I passed your website along to my sister in Minnesota (who is also a quilter and a lovely Christian woman) — I know she’ll enjoy your writing and sewing projects as much as I do. Take care, friend!

  2. You are on a roll! I love them both. As far as what I’ve created…umm, not so much lately. I’ve got a bunch of ideas swirling around my head, but have yet to make them concrete, which is wearing on me. Oh the busy life of motherhood. Glad you carve out time to feed your creative side.

    1. I can’t even imagine what your days look like with a tribe that big. You ALWAYS talked about your desires for a big family. I remember it like it was yesterday, lol! I see you made that concrete. LOL! That is such a blessing. May the Lord give you moments to “steal away” and “create” with Him.

      I feel like I have not had a choice here lately. People keep giving me stuff. I am learning that my motivation tends to be on the low side due to the way I take in and process info, which is way I used to constantly feel bad because I was surrounded by “movers and shakers” (people that actually accomplished things, lol). So, I believe the Lord has been trying to help me increase my capacity for making decisions, not taking more time than is necessary. I will “process” something until the cows come home. Lol! Problem with that is, it keeps me from producing. Why did I just go into all of that? Lol. Oh, well. Have a good one my love.

  3. Enjoying your writing and hearing how God blesses. Plus it looks like you’re becoming quite the seamstress. It’s amazing…you can’t out give Him! Created lately???…I’ve started writing down stories from my children’s early years. Now that grandchildren are here I’m hoping they will enjoy having these memories to look back on.

    1. That sounds wonderful Brooke. I think your grandchildren will absolutely love hearing those stories! I hear that it helps with their “sense of belonging”. Through stories, they learn that they’re apart of something larger than themselves, yet still a very important part.

  4. I love the blanky and the pillow. It is so beautiful. I really need to sit down and create the things God has put in my heart.

Go ahead and leave a drop!

