Sweater vest into big girl dress

I have had this boys sweater vest in my fabric stash for about a year.

I found it at a garage sale for $1 I think.  When I saw the vest I knew I wanted to turn it into a toddler dress.  I was inspired by this refashion Ashley posted over at Make it and Love it.  She did a fabulous job!

I didn’t nearly have to put in the amount of work Ashley did, because I did not start with a full sized sweater.  Matter of fact, my cuts were two and I was about through.

I chose not to resize the neck area, so all I had left to do was turn this baby inside out and sew.  I used my serger to secure the cut edges.  Wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  I have not worked with sweater material before.  The serger worked like a champ.  It continues to amaze me.

After that, it was ready to be worn by its new owner.  Curly Cutie!

sweater

She cracks me up with the whole “hands on my hip” deal.  It’s been her “go to” pose here lately.  We decided to pair her new dress with a long-sleeved tee, jeans and chunky boots.  And this is how we’re making clothes for Curly Cutie the easy way.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sweater vest into big girl dress

  1. What a fantastic idea!!!

  2. That’s super cute, what a great idea! Miss Cutie looks really happy to be wearing it too.

    (Also, I find it hilarious and awesome that your bookshelves in the background are sorted by colour.)

    • Thanks Kristel! Curly Cutie is hilarious. When I tell her I’ve made something for her she’s always like, “who me?” with a big smile on her face. I saw the idea for color-coded shelves online somewhere. I think they are so fun! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

  3. Kimby says:

    Great sweater re-do! Curly Cutie could be a model. Just sayin… :)

  4. tcb2b7 says:

    Mam! I’ll take that off your hands for Nyla when your baby cannot fit it! LOL

  5. Cynthia Edgerson says:

    Super talented lady! Fanstatic job! I love to see your gifts in action…you are so creative.

  6. G says:

    Oh such a cutie!

Go ahead and leave a drop!

